TL;DR
Get kitchen gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Walmart has introduced Express Pickup, letting customers order through its app and collect curbside orders in as soon as one hour. The service is available at 500 stores, with a nationwide expansion planned in the coming weeks; Walmart+ members can use it without an additional fee.
Walmart has launched Express Pickup, an app-based service that lets shoppers place orders for curbside collection and have them ready in as soon as one hour. The option is currently available at 500 stores, and Walmart says it plans to expand nationwide in the coming weeks, adding a faster pickup choice as holiday shopping approaches.
Customers place Express Pickup orders through the Walmart app. The retailer says orders may be ready for curbside pickup in as little as one hour; the report does not specify whether that timing applies to every order or which products qualify. Customers should check the app for availability and an estimated collection time before traveling to a store.
Walmart+ members can use Express Pickup without a fee, according to the report. It does not give details on the price for customers who are not members, or state whether every store offering pickup will have the Express option. The reported availability is 500 stores, with a nationwide expansion expected in the coming weeks.
The pickup launch comes alongside other holiday-shopping services Walmart is promoting. The company has also introduced Shop to Light, a digital shelf-label feature controlled through its app that is intended to help shoppers locate products in stores. Walmart offers drone delivery, one-hour express delivery and scheduled delivery as additional ways to receive purchases, according to Hardware Retailing.
Faster Store Pickup for Holiday Orders
Express Pickup gives shoppers another way to manage time-sensitive purchases without relying solely on delivery. If an order is eligible and ready on the stated timeline, curbside collection could help customers fit shopping around work, travel or holiday plans. The service also connects Walmart’s app-based shopping with in-store fulfillment, allowing customers to order remotely and collect items at a nearby location.
The 500-store availability means the option is not yet accessible everywhere. Walmart’s planned nationwide rollout could broaden access, but the report does not provide a precise date or a list of locations. For customers, the practical benefit will depend on local availability, product selection and the pickup times shown during checkout.
The membership detail may also affect how shoppers compare options. Walmart+ members are reported to receive unlimited Express Pickup without a fee, while the cost or terms for nonmembers were not specified. Shoppers deciding whether to use the service will need to review any fees and eligibility information displayed in the app.
Walmart Express Pickup shopping cart
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Walmart’s Other Holiday Shopping Tools
Walmart is presenting Express Pickup as part of a broader set of ways to shop and receive holiday essentials. The company’s existing choices, as described by Hardware Retailing, include one-hour express delivery, scheduled delivery and drone delivery. These options differ from Express Pickup because they bring orders to customers rather than requiring a curbside store visit.
The retailer also introduced Shop to Light earlier in October, according to the report. The feature uses digital shelf labels controlled through the Walmart app to help customers find products inside a store. Taken together, the services address different parts of a shopping trip: finding an item in person, collecting an online order or arranging delivery.
Hardware Retailing reported the Express Pickup development on October 8, 2026. Its account does not provide a detailed rollout schedule, operational terms or company statements beyond the service information. The nationwide expansion is described as coming in the following weeks, making the timing of local availability a key detail for shoppers to check.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Rollout Timing and Order Terms
The report leaves several service details open. Walmart has not been quoted directly in the source material, and it does not identify which products can be ordered through Express Pickup, how the one-hour estimate is calculated or whether order volume and store hours affect readiness. It also does not explain how customers will be notified if an order is delayed.
Other unresolved details include the fee for non-Walmart+ customers, any minimum order requirements and the precise meaning of nationwide availability. The report says the service will expand nationwide in the coming weeks but does not name a completion date or confirm that every location will offer it at the same time. The extent of overlap between Express Pickup and Walmart’s other pickup services is also not described.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
More Stores Expected in Coming Weeks
Walmart’s next stated step is to expand Express Pickup beyond its current 500 stores nationwide in the coming weeks. The source does not provide a day-by-day schedule, so customers will need to check the Walmart app to see whether the service has reached their local store and what collection windows are available.
As the rollout develops, the details most relevant to shoppers are likely to be store coverage, product eligibility, estimated wait times and any charges for nonmembers. Until Walmart provides or publishes those terms, the reported one-hour readiness should be understood as the earliest stated timeframe, not a guarantee that every order will be ready within an hour.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How does Walmart Express Pickup work?
Customers place an order through the Walmart app and collect it curbside. Walmart says an order can be ready in as soon as one hour, though the report does not say that timing applies to every order.
Where is Express Pickup available?
The service is reported to be available at 500 stores. Walmart plans to expand it nationwide in the coming weeks, but no location list or exact rollout date was provided.
Do Walmart+ members pay to use Express Pickup?
Walmart+ members can use the service without a fee, according to the report. It does not state what nonmembers will pay or whether other terms apply.
Is one-hour pickup guaranteed?
No guarantee is specified in the source. Walmart is reported to say orders can be ready in as soon as one hour; customers should check the app for the estimate and availability for their order.
How does Express Pickup differ from Walmart delivery?
With Express Pickup, shoppers collect an order curbside at a store. Walmart’s other options cited in the report include one-hour express delivery, scheduled delivery and drone delivery, which bring purchases to customers rather than requiring store collection.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
